Home > News > YMP Announces Kelly Earle &...

YMP Announces Kelly Earle & Vincent Metcalfe as the 2023 Eira Thomas & Peter Munk Awards Winners

Feb 15, 2023

The Young Mining Professionals ("YMP") named Kelly Earle and Vincent Metcalfe 2023 winners YMP Eira Thomas and Peter Munk Awards. The awards will be presented to Kelly and Vincent at the YMP Awards Cocktail Reception on Saturday, March 4th, 2023, at 5pm at the Shangri-La Hotel in Toronto, Canada as the kick-off event for the mining industry's Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada's Conference.  

The YMP Awards, presented in association with The Northern Miner, recognizes two young mining professionals, a female and a male, who over the past year, and during their careers, have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills and innovative thinking to provide value for their companies and shareholders, as well as for themselves. 

Kelly Earle
Kelly Earle is an investor relations and corporate development professional and a geologist. She spent several years in the field prior to making the transition into the corporate side of the mining industry.

Kelly Earle_Pic 1_300
Kelly Earle winner of the 2023 Eira Thomas Award present by Young Mining Professionals organization

Earle has a Bachelor of Science in Geology from the University of British Columbia and her Certified Professional Investor Relations designation from the Ivey School of Business at Western University. Earle is a strong advocate for women in the mining industry and Indigenous rights.

Earle is the founder and proprietor of K. Earle Consulting, a private firm which specializes in investor relations and communications services for junior mining companies. She is the former Senior Vice President, Corporate Development for Skeena Resources Limited, a TSX and NYSE-listed development-stage mining company, where she helped grow the company from a $25 million to $1 billion market capitalization over a six-year period. 

Earle was a founding member of both: the British Columbia Regional Mining Alliance, a regional partnership between Indigenous groups, industry and provincial government representatives to promote mining investment in British Columbia; and the Industry Advisory Board Chair for CASERM (Center for Advanced Subsurface Earth Resource Models), an Industry-University Cooperative Research Center between the Colorado School of Mines and Virginia Tech, backed by the National Science Foundation. 

Vincent Metcalfe
Vincent Metcalfe was the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Nomad which was recently sold to Sandstorm Gold for $740 million.  

YMP Award Pic 1_300_Vincent Metcalfe
Winner of the 2023 Peter Munk Award presented by Young Mining Professionals


Nomad grew from 8 assets to over 23 assets globally in the span of only 30 months. Vincent and his partners executed over 10 transactions and assisted several operators during their key project finance phases and helping reach construction phase. He's an accomplished executive with domestic and international experience in the metals and mining sector.

Prior founding Nomad, Metcalfe held a number of officer and senior executive roles within the Osisko group of companies.  As an executive he helped several companies advance and develop mining projects. He has extensive mining knowledge and proven experience in capital raising, mergers & acquisitions and financial engineering. 

Prior to his executive roles, he advised resource clients with a focus on precious metals, base metals, and bulk commodities, in both mergers & acquisitions advisory and financing at large Canadian investment banks for nearly 10 years.

The YMP Awards are named after two iconic entrepreneurs in the mining industry, Eira Thomas and the late Peter Munk. Peter Munk was the founder of Barrick Gold the largest gold mining company in the world.

The Peter Munk Award is awarded to young male mining professional while the Eira Thomas Award is awarded to young female mining professional.

The past recipients of the Peter Munk Award are Alex Dorsch, Matthew Fenton, David Cataford, Jose Vizquerra, Stephen de Jong and Nolan Watson. 

Eira Thomas is the President and CEO of Lucara Diamonds. Thomas is a Canadian geologist with over twenty-five years of experience in the Canadian mining industry.

Previous recipients of the Eira Thomas Award are Shelby Yee, Maggie Layman, Ashley Kirwan, Andrée St-Germain, Catherine Raw, and Alicia Woods.

To qualify for the awards nominees must be under 40 years of age in 2022 and active in some aspect of the mining industry. Voting on a selection of nominees was held in February by a committee representing the global YMP chapters and The Northern Miner.

About YMP
YMP is a global association of mining professionals that share the goal of advancing the global profile and leadership of the mining industry. YMP was established to assist participants in obtaining the skills, support and knowledge to successfully advance their careers, develop a network of contacts within the industry and identify career and mining-related investment opportunities. YMP facilitates these objectives through scholarships, networking and social events, as well as high-profile guest speaker events throughout the year. 

YMP has chapters in Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal, Sudbury, London UK, Brisbane, Melbourne, Perth, Peru, Switzerland, Mongolia and Arizona.  Each chapter hosts a range of events in their respective city, including the Distinguished Speakers series, which has attracted the industry's top icons, including Peter Munk, Pierre Lassonde, Sir Mick Davis, Mark Cutifani, Ian Telfer, Eira Thomas, Rob McEwen, Don Lindsay, Ross Beatty and many more.

YMP would like to thank our generous sponsors and supporters of the YMP Awards: Barrick Gold, Cassels, The Northern Miner and KPMG, whose commitment to our industry's next generation is invaluable to recognizing the talented and committed professionals within the mining sector.

For more information on: YMP or to Purchase tickets for  the YMP Awards Dinner on Saturday March 4th,  or to find out about other YMP events and Career Connect, or the YMP Scholarship Fund please visit:

www.youngminingprofessionals.com or email us at info@youngminingprofessionals.com.

Tags: Southern Ontario / Events / All Articles